Gotta find my ‘mojo’ (for writing)

Posted on: May 17, 2012

Yesterday, I had the chance to attend a writing workshop that our company has sponsored. The ‘ABLE Source Workshop’ was actually intended for information officers / public relations and media relations officers to help us understand how the local Baguio community papers run and what they expect from news sources like us. 

I was excited to attend the workshop for the simple reason that I would love to have a refresher on news writing, plus I’d get the chance to meet the editors and publishers of the local papers. Despite the small number of attendees, the event was a success as it was all about learning and camaraderie (for some reason, it makes me wanna puke putting those words together). And most importantly, it made me want to write again. Write in a way that I respect my own writing and not just write because I wanted to claim myself as a writer.

Hearing the likes of Frank Cimatu, Malou Guieb, Eli Refuerzo and the others talk about writing made me me miss it a lot. It made me hungry of the forgotten knowledge I acquired back in college as a journalism graduate. Kuya Frank said you gotta train to be a good writer. And by training, it means writing every day – anything under the sun that you can write about – and read read read! Ms. Malou said something about ‘painting pictures with words.’ I believe at one point in my life, I was pretty good at that, even losing myself while stitching my words, but I woke up one day not knowing how to even draw. Lame.

I used to read 3 to 4 books in a month – that was before I got eaten up by work (and Facebook!) So I am seriously considering minimizing my Facebook (and Social Media-ing) time and devote more of it in reading books. I probably have around five still untouched (still have cover in them!) books lying in my bookshelf in Makati and 3 more here in Benguet, which I so eagerly bought with me but turned out to be dust eaters.

I hope I would not eat my words (or blogs) later but I promise to write more frequently in this blog instead of staring at walls when I’m on my break mode (feeling sleepy or hungry or plain bored) while in the office or during my idle, ‘me’ moments.   

So before I totally lose that ‘mojo,’ I’ll actually start practicing and this is my beginning.

Leave a Reply

Today is…

May 2012
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Kuwadro

More Photos

My Tweet Life

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

