A 2nd (and successful) attempt to swim in the sea of clouds

Posted on: May 22, 2011

It’s been one week now but I can still feel the tranquility that it gave me – being on top of the world, where you can witness the majestic sea of clouds before you and wonder how such creation exist and be reminded that with God, all things are possible. While trekking up the mountain, up to the summit, I’ve got one thing on my mind: I will take the time to reflect and thank God, and just relish that feeling of being physically close to him (somehow it felt that way ‘coz I was higher than the clouds and it felt like I was in heaven).

Right here, I speak to you

My 2nd time in Mt. Pulag turned out to be better than what I expected. It was my first time to join a group of travelers who are basically strangers to each other. A colleague talked me into this after learning about my frustration about the first time I climbed because it was stormy and naturally, no sea of clouds for me and my group. But the company I had in that first Pulag climb was something I wouldn’t trade for anything – my BaKas friends. =) And so, this group of lone (and couples of) travelers, who crossed paths because of Travel Factor, went up the mountain as strangers and went down as new found friends to each other.

I wasn’t feeling well the whole climb up Camp 2, where we’ll be retiring for the day. I was battling stomachache and headache from the time we stopped at a 24-hour resto near Baguio market for breakfast, to the trip to the DENR and ranger station, and the whole journey up the mountain. At past 5PM, when we finally settled at camp, I succumbed to my headache and missed the sunset.

I didn’t expect what the dawn had in-store for me as it was raining like crazy the whole night. I woke up around 2:30 AM, still feeling nauseous but hauled my butt up for the 2-hour walk up the summit for the sunrise. I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, I was elated… it was a very nice surprise. Round the bend, after about an hour and a half of walking a little blindly with my almost-dead headlamp, it greeted me – the orange-casted sky and the sea of clouds covering the horizon beneath it. Literally, I almost screamed of delight. The feeling was indescribable and all the pain I was feeling at the moment was gone in an instant.

Breath-taking

Leave a Reply

Today is…

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

My Tweet Life

