Thank God for TODAY

Posted on: January 9, 2011

Today is what it’s all about.

I’ve been living in the past. That’s what I realized. If there is any moment that we should be thankful for, it’s this very moment that we’re breathing in. Yesterday was an experience that no matter how it messed some things up, taught us to be wiser day by day. In my previous post, I talked (or ranted) about how 2010 was such a schmuck. But maybe I let it be a schmuck. You know how they say that SOME bad things happen only because you allow it to? I attribute it to every decision we make – from the most seemingly insignificant to the earth-shattering ones that turn our lives upside down. And then we find ourselves shrugging until it become just a mannerism. That quick ‘doesn’t-matter-I-did-it already’ fleeting self-expression. Most of the times it’s a good sign since moving on is what often follows, but on the other hand, it makes you appear like you’re used to commiting mistakes.

Moving on. That’s what’s important. The ghosts of our past will always be there to haunt us – sometimes even turn into nightmares. But what matters is how you avert the strike of its remnants.

The past is not the only culprit of some people’s misery. I don’t really like it that much when some people say “Just look at the future!” How can I when I have no idea what it looks or what it would look like? There’s a very big difference from shaping a future in your mind and actually doing something to achieve what you want to achieve. For me, it’s more important to stay focus on the present time – on what you’re doing to lead you to your dream destination.

Future is everything but it’s only as good as nothing when we screw up the options that we have right now. So today I am thanking God – for this rainy Sunday afternoon, for that noise outside, for this muffin top, and for this moment I came to realize that I better be alive.

I leave you this:

Each morning when you open your eyes; say to yourself,

You, and not the day’s events,

have the power to make you happy or unhappy today.

You can choose which it shall be.

Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet.

You just have one day. Today.

When you start your day;

Tell yourself, “I’m going to be happy today.”

– from http://www.pravsworld.com

Leave a Reply

Today is…

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Tweet Life

