FANMODE: Joseph Mazzello (and THE PACIFIC)

Posted on: May 15, 2010

I can’t believe this kid…

The young JM

… has turned out like this:

Josepth Mazzello the "hunk"

When I first watched the new HBO mini-series, The Pacific, I thought that guy they called “Sledgehammer” looked awfully familiar but I can’t quite place where I saw him. Those thin lips, intense gaze, and a character that screams sensitivity and slight awkwardness. Then it hit me. He’s that kid Brad Renfro was playing peek-a-boo with and carried in his shoulders in my most favorite movie of all time (well because Brad Renfro was in it), The Cure. This kiddo made me cry and my highschool buddy Ehly too while eating cake on my 14th or 15th birthday (memory’s a little hazy).

He also starred in blockbuster movies like Jurassic Park and River Wild, had a tiny part in the rom-com flick Raising Helen, and even had a frustrating come back in the 1997 Jurassic sequel, The Lost World. But after that, he’s *poof* gone. Turned out he ditched Hollywood for school and a degree in Film Directing. Now that’s what I call “Smexy.”

dirty... then and now

But now, he’s back and it looks like he’s not stopping soon. After seeing him in the small tube as a mud-worn soldier, he’s soon to appear in a biopic of the accidental billionaires who founded Facebook. The film called The Social Network is due to come out in October this year.

THE PACIFIC

I don’t normally like war movies because I find them very disturbing and gory and just plain not-my-type but when I saw the intro/opening credits of the series, it gave me the chills and it made me want to see every episode badly. The 10-part mini-series tells the stories of three marines who were deployed in America’s battle against the Japanese (or Nippies as they call them) during World War II in well, the Pacific. =)

And so far, having seen all seven episodes (three more to go!) I am not disappointed. As far as I know, there are only two war movies that captured my heart – Saving Private Ryan and Behind Enemy Lines. And this one’s definitely a keeper. The series also stars James Badge Dale as PFC Robert Leckie (the author of the book “Helmet for my Pillow where the screenplay was based) and Jon Seda who played Sgt. John Basilone.

soldiers in suits =)

Mazello as Sledge

Dale as Leckie

Seda as Basilone

Striking resemblance I’d say… very good casting =)

Here’s a look at the life of the real Eugene Sledge:

Now, here’s an interview of Dale and Mazzello talking about acting tough for their roles:

Too bad, can’t buy the series yet… it’s not yet complete. Bummer.

3 Responses to "FANMODE: Joseph Mazzello (and THE PACIFIC)"

Crush ko si Dale!!!

Delicious. Dale-i-shoos. Hahaha

haha! yea, crush-able nga siya among the three =) Panoorin mo Katskie! =)

Napanuod ko yung pilot two weeks ago yata, and si Dale agad napansin ko, may James McAvoy-ish charm siya ❤ Kumpletuhin ko sige, plus yung nire-recommend mong Ghost Whisperer!

Leave a Reply

Today is…

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Tweet Life

